Haiku Deck Presentation

Posted: July 6, 2016 in 1.2 Message Design, 3.1 Media Utilization, 3.2 Diffusion of Innovations
Tags:

Haiku DeckThis week, in my EDTECH 513 Multimedia class, we learned that when designing a presentation, it is important to incorporate the Modality Principle. This means that learning occurs through the use of images where only a small amount of text is presented with the narration. For this project, we were asked to use Haiku Deck, which is a website that helps the user create powerful presentations that promote teaching and learning. When I created my account, I experimented with Haiku Deck’s features and I was impressed with how easy it was to navigate and create a presentation with beautiful images and speaker notes.

The presentation I chose to create is titled, Google Edu. My school system just adopted the use of Google Apps for all our students and faculty. At first there was a bit of skepticism on how successful this would be, so I decided to get some training and become a Certified Google Educator. I was able to decide for myself how effective Google Edu is and I would also be able pass on what I learned to my fellow colleagues through Professional Development. After my training, I fell in love with all the Google Apps. I did some PD events but I am still in need of a presentation tool to convince my fellow educators on how cool the Google Apps are and how they can be incorporated into their lesson plans. This presentation will accompany my discussion of an Introduction to the Google Apps. The speaker notes give an outline about what my narration would consist of but I would go into more detail about examples of my use of Google Apps in my classroom.

Here is the link to my presentation: Google Edu

Leave a Reply

